As suspense builds over the new cabinet, Yogi Adityanath invites potential ministers

Ahead of the swearing-in ceremony, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath called the potential ministers for tea and breakfast on Friday morning. Among those invited for tea are Keshab Prasad Maurya, Dinesh Sharma, Siddharth Nath Singh, Nanda Gopal Nandi, Brajesh Pathak, Joy Pratap Singh, Satish Mahana, Jitin Prasad, Suresh Khanna and Srikanth Sharma.

The list of ministers has not yet been finalized at a meeting of the BJP Legislative Party at 4 pm today, where legislators are expected to elect Yogi Adityanath as their leader.

A marathon meeting was also held in Delhi on Wednesday with the new cabinet of the Yogi government. Central observers Amit Shah and Raghubar Das arrived in Lucknow with the final list.

A total of 61 or more ministers can be sworn in, but 25-30 new faces will take part in the cabinet, sources said. About 45-50 potential ministers have been called for tea. The list includes 15-20 ministers in the first term of the Yogi government. Besides, 25-30 people will take part in the cabinet for the first time.

Sources further said that about 50 ministers could be sworn in along with Yogi Adityanath on March 25. About 20 people can be ministers again.

Some of the leaders who lost the 2022 Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections may also get a chance. Yogi 2.0 can also accommodate members of the Jat community. Apart from this, priority will be given to Kashi, Braj and Awadh areas.

Read all the latest news, breaking news and live updates of the Ukraine-Russia war here.

Leave a Comment