Bengal’s Ram Chandra Dome to become first Dalit politburo member, CPI-M sources say

A seven-time MP from West Bengal and a member of the CPI-M Central Committee, Ram Chandra Dom will be the first Dalit representative in the Politburo, the party’s highest decision-making body.

CPI-M sources told IANS that the decision was taken at a meeting of the party’s central committee held at Nayana Academy Hall in Kannur, Kerala, as part of the 23rd party congress.

The CPI-M has never included any Dalit leader in its politburo since its formation in 1964.

Ashok Dhawale, leader of the Maharashtra All India Kisan Sabha, and former acting secretary of Kerala CPI-M and convener of the ruling Left Democratic Front (LDF), A.K. Other representatives of Vijayaraghaban Politburo will be 6

They are senior leader S. Ramchandra Pillai and Hannan Mollah will be replaced by the party’s top decision-making body, CPI-M sources said.

Kerala Minister P. Rajiv and KN Balagopal will be included in the party’s central committee, the party’s second highest decision-making body.

The two female leaders of the party, p. Sathidevi and CS Sujata, both former MPs, will also be included in the CPI-M Central Committee.

Former Minister J. The possibility of one between Marcicutti Amma and former MP TN Seema is also under consideration.

According to party sources, the senior leader of the Kerala party P. Karunakaran and Vaikom Viswan will be removed from the CPI-M Central Committee as they are over 75 years old. This is what Politburo member S. This also applies to Ramachandran Pillai, who will be removed from the party politburo.

The possibility of including P Krishnaprasad, a peasant protest leader and former Kerala MLA, and P Biju, a former MP, in the Central Committee is still under consideration.

Read all the latest news, breaking news and IPL 2022 live updates here.

Leave a Comment