BJP’s main meeting in Lucknow today to finalize the Yogi 2.0 government

The BJP is scheduled to hold an important meeting in Lucknow on Thursday to discuss the formation of a Yogi 2.0 government in Uttar Pradesh. Sources said that the meeting is expected to formally approve Yogi Adityanath for re-election as Chief Minister.

Along with the senior BJP leader, Union Home Minister Amit Shah is expected to attend the meeting as a party observer to form the government, sources said, adding that Yogi Adityanath will be elected as the leader of the BJP assembly.

The name of the Deputy Chief Minister is also likely to be finalized at this key meeting amid stalemate over the post following the defeat of Keshab Maurya in the just-concluded Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh.

Yogi Adityanath is expected to arrive at the Raj Bhavan on Thursday evening and demand the formation of a government from Governor Anandiben Patel with the support of 273 MLAs.

The BJP has asked all MLAs to attend the meeting

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has asked all its MLAs to attend the meeting. Election in-charge Dharmendra Pradhan, state in-charge Radha Mohan Singh, state president Swatantra Dev Singh, Keshab Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma will also be present at the meeting.

Yogi Adityanath will take oath of office and secrecy at Ekna Stadium in Lucknow on Friday, March 25 at 4 pm.

Candidates for the post of Speaker

BJP leader Surya Pratap Shahi, former Parliamentary Affairs Minister Suresh Khanna and former Uttarakhand Governor Baby Rani Maurya are the top candidates for the post of Speaker of the 18th Assembly. According to sources, senior BJP leaders believe that Baby Rani Maurya’s experience as governor makes her suitable for the post of Speaker of the Legislative Assembly.

Meanwhile, UP Governor Anandiben Patel has appointed Ramapati Shastri, the most senior member of the Legislative Assembly, as Pro-Tem Speaker. He will remain in office until the Speaker is elected. Shastri, along with five other senior members, will administer the oath of office to the newly elected MLAs in the Assembly on March 28-29. Among them are former assembly speakers Mata Prasad Pandey, Suresh Khanna, Joy Pratap Singh, Fateh Bahadur Singh and Rampal.

According to sources, Amit Shah will bring a list of those who will be sworn in as ministers in the Yogi cabinet. The list was finalized after an intelligence session with Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other senior BJP leaders in Delhi, sources said.

Read all the latest news, breaking news and live updates of the Ukraine-Russia war here.

Leave a Comment