CM Keeps Home, Dy CM Maurya Rural Development; Financing with Suresh Khanna

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on Monday announced the portfolios of the new BJP-led administration, with Home, Vigilance and staff responsibilities among other key departments. According to the portfolio list, 34 divisions will be with the Chief Minister.

Deputy Chief Minister Keshab Prasad Maurya has been given charge of six departments – Rural Development, Rural Engineering, Food Processing, Entertainment Tax, Public Enterprise and National Solidarity. Another Deputy Chief Minister, Brajesh Pathak, will head the medical education, medical and health and family welfare departments.

Suresh Khanna will be the head of the finance and parliamentary affairs department and Baby Rani Maurya has been given women and child welfare.

State BJP president Swatantra Dev Singh will head the water power department, which coordinates with the Center and plays a key role in the Prime Minister Narendra Modi-backed Namami Ganga project. In addition, he will oversee flood control.

Jitin Prasad has been given charge of PWD, which was earlier headed by Deputy CM Maurya, and Surya Pratap Shahi has been given charge of Agriculture, Agricultural Education and Research.

Among the independent ministers of state (MoS), former IPS officer Asim Arun will be the head of social welfare, SC / ST welfare department. Among other MoS ‘(independent responsibilities), Sandeep Singh, the grandson of BJP’s veteran Kalyan Singh, will oversee primary education, while Daya Shankar Singh has received transport.

IAS-turned-politician Arvind Kumar Sharma, Prime Minister Modi’s confidante, has been given urban development and strength in five divisions. The BJP’s allies have also got their share, with Nishad party president Sanjay Nishad heading fisheries, and Apna Dal (Sonelal) leader Ashish Patel overseeing the technical education department.

Danish Azad Ansari, the only Muslim minister, has been allotted MoS rank, Waqf and Hajj, as well as minority welfare, and Baldev Singh Aulakh, the only Sikh minister with the same MoS rank, will be head of agriculture and agriculture education.

Yogi Adityanath’s cabinet was sworn in on Friday, during which 52 ministers were sworn in at a grand ceremony at the Ekna Stadium in Lucknow. The portfolios were allotted to all 52 ministers on Monday.

Following the release of the portfolios, CM Adityanath took to Twitter to greet his cabinet colleagues.

According to the constitutional provision, Uttar Pradesh can have a maximum of 60 ministers, including the Chief Minister.

(With PTI input)

Read all the latest news, breaking news and IPL 2022 live updates here.

Leave a Comment