MLA Satish Mahana is the new Speaker of Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly for eight terms

Satish Mahana, the eight-term MLA of the ruling BJP, was elected unopposed as the Speaker of the 18th Legislative Assembly of Uttar Pradesh on Tuesday. Acting Speaker Ramapati Shastri Mohana announced unopposed election, his only nomination for the post.

Governor Anandiben Patel had fixed March 29 for the election of Speaker. Leader of Parliament and Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, Leader of the Opposition Akhilesh Yadav and leaders of all other parties congratulated Mohana.

His nomination was proposed by Adityanath and supported by Senior Minister Suresh Khanna. Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Akhilesh Yadav also proposed Mahana’s name and his party’s Avadhesh Prasad supported it.

Leaders of other political parties, including Raghuraj Pratap Singh of Jansatta Dal Loktantrik and Aradhana Mishra of the Congress, also proposed his nomination. Mahana has been elected for the eighth time from Maharajpur assembly constituency of Kanpur district. Born in Kanpur on October 14, 1960, he was first elected to the Legislative Assembly in 1991 and has maintained his presence in the House ever since.

Apart from being the state minister for urban development in the Mayawati-led government of the BSP-BJP alliance, he was also a minister in the governments led by Kalyan Singh, Ram Prakash Gupta and Rajnath Singh. He was the Minister for Industrial Development in the previous Legislative Assembly led by Yogi Adityanath.

In the seven-phase election to the Uttar Pradesh Assembly, the BJP won 255 seats, with its allies winning 12 seats and the weak Indian exploited Hamara Aam Dal (Nishad) six seats.

The main opposition SP won 111 seats, with its ally the state Lok Dal winning eight and the Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party six. The Congress and Jansatta Loktantrik won two seats each, while the Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party won one seat.

Read all the latest news, breaking news and IPL 2022 live updates here.

Leave a Comment