The BJD registered a landslide victory in the urban local body elections, followed by the BJP

The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has emerged victorious in the Urban Local Body (ULB) elections. The results of 105 Municipalities / Advertised Area Councils (NACs) and three Municipal Corporations of Bhubaneswar, Cuttack and Berhampur were declared.

BJD Bhubaneswar, Cuttack and Berhampur have won 76 municipalities / NACs in three municipal corporations and chairperson seats in mayoral seats.

The BJP is in second place with 16 chairperson seats, while the Congress has won 7 seats and independent candidates 9 seats.

Out of 67 corporator seats in Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC), BJD has won 48 seats, BJP 10 seats and Congress 9 seats. BJD has won 38 of the 59 corporate seats in Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC). , Followed by the Congress (8), the BJP (7), and the Independent (6).

In Berhampur Municipal Corporation (BEMC), out of 42 seats, BJD has won 30 corporate seats and BJP candidates have won 7 seats. Congress has won only one seat where independent candidates have won four corporate seats. BJD mayoral candidates have won seats at comfortable intervals in all the three corporation cities.

BJD President Naveen Patnaik congratulated all the winning BJD candidates and praised the hard work of the party workers.

Thanking the people for restoring confidence in his party, BJD president Naveen Patnaik said in a tweet: “Thank you to all the people of Orissa for their overwhelming support in the Orissa municipal elections. This victory is an expression of love for BJD Orissa and a reflection of the tireless work of thousands of party workers. OdishaLovesBJD ”

Similarly, Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan congratulated all the winning BJP candidates and thanked those who voted for the BJP in the urban elections.

On the other hand, the turnout is increasing in favor of BJD. Out of 105 chairpersons, BJD won 73 seats. The BJP has won 16 seats, with the Congress winning seven and the Independent nine. Similarly, out of 105 municipalities and 1,716 councilor seats in the NAC, BJD won 1,175 seats, and BJD’s vote share also increased. The ruling BJD was able to win 50% of the vote in the council elections. BJP 27%, Congress 12%, Independents 9% and NOTA and others 1%. BJD’s vote share has decreased in the election of chairperson. The party lost 2% of the vote and was able to get 48% of the vote. The BJP has risen from 2% to 29%, the Congress 12%. The BJP has claimed that it has won 88 seats in 108 NACs and municipalities, an indication for the 2024 general elections.

“Opposition is failing due to lack of credible leadership. When the ruling party is reaching out to the people through various public welfare projects, the opposition has no specific issue. Now is the time. Opposition wants to review and correct it,” said Ravi Das, a veteran journalist.

In the panchayat elections, BJD was able to get 90% of the seats and formed district councils in 766 zones out of a total of 852 ZPs. BJD has formed district councils in 30 districts. The BJD got 52.73% of the vote, the BJP 30.7%, the Congress 13.57% and the others 3.16%.

Read all the latest news, breaking news and IPL 2022 live updates here.

Leave a Comment