Voting is on for 36 seats in the upper house, with Chief Minister Adityanath voting

In Uttar Pradesh, the state legislature is voting in 36 upper house seats. The seats are spread over 35 local authority constituencies. The vote will be counted on April 12.

Nine MLCs have been elected unopposed from eight local body constituencies. These constituencies are Budaun, Hardoi, Kheri, Mirzapur-Sonbhadra, Banda-Hamirpur, Aligarh, Bulandshahr and Mathura-Ita-Mainpuri.

The BJP is looking to become the single largest party in the Legislative Assembly. Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath cast his vote in the MLC polls on Saturday morning.

On Friday, Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav demanded special measures to ensure fairness and transparency in the polls. He said the manner in which CM Adityanath and other BJP leaders were claiming to win all the seats had raised questions about the government’s intentions.

“For the sanctity of democracy and for a neutral vote, we hope that the Election Commission will fulfill its constitutional responsibility. We hope the ruling party will not be allowed to manipulate tomorrow’s vote, “Yadav was quoted as saying in a party statement.

Yadav said, “The BJP government wants to impose opposition-free and monopoly rule in Uttar Pradesh by intimidating and enticing the village head, BDC and other voters through officials. This behavior of the BJP is a danger to democracy, “he claimed.

According to the Election Commission, the BJP won the second term directly after getting a maximum of 41.3 per cent vote share in the Assembly elections, followed by the Samajwadi Party with 32 per cent votes.

Read all the latest news, breaking news and IPL 2022 live updates here.

Leave a Comment